I Remember Where I Was…..

My memories from September 11, 2001 are probably different then a lot of people in the United States. Mainly because I wasn’t in the United States when the Twin Towers were bombed. I was serving in the United States Navy and deployed to Naples, Italy. I recall going to work that morning and walking in with some joke on my tongue when I realized the entire shop was quiet and staring at a television stand that hadn’t been there the day before.

I Remember...
With a numbing fear I watched on the television the act that would throw my world and everyone else’s I knew and loved in an uproar. Three hours later I was on a ship headed to what we called “The Triangle”….to the Middle East to aid in anyway we could. I was terrified, yes….everyone was, but also found that my resolve to do this, to protect and do my part was sure and rooted. I worried about my son, he wasn’t even a year old yet, back in Baltimore with my family. Only 30 minutes from the Pentagon in D.C. an hour trip from Pennsylvania, and three hours from New York, I knew they were scared for themselves, their country, and their daughter whom they had yet to hear from. Communication had been cut off from us to home….I didn’t want to be anywhere but home, reassuring them and comforting….

Here we are, 12 years later and it still feels like yesterday for me….I can’t believe it’s been so long….and another threat looms. It’s terrifying and agree or disagree, I hope our military is up for whatever is to come and I pray constantly for the families of this country…and for the leaders to be wise in their choices.

There are thousands of heros from 9-11….and I pause today and while it is a horrible time in our history, I can be grateful, proud, and honored to have served with them and to know that when tragedy strikes, it creates heros in us rather then cowards…

Boots – Reek – Boston Boots
Flight Suit – SMS – Flight Suit in Navy Blue
Hat – SMS – Navy Blue Ballcap

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. The day the world changed for most………..such a beautifully composed post Krysta ❤
    Thank you for sharing and I am sending you the largest of hugs…….with hopes no one ever has to experience anything like this again.

    Reply
    • I agree, I hope no one ever has to face that sort of terrorism, but ya know…its part of this world now, we just gotta keep fighting the good fight. -hugs- I hope you are having a great day.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

madi Likes It

madi Likes It a SL Blogger

MiaFoxdale

Chic Happens ~

A Kat and A Mouse

Exploring Second Life

Goodnight Photography

The Beauty of Second Life

Colleens SLife In Pixels

Photography * Machinima * Fashion * Second Life * Babenco & Criss * LumaLite HUD

Beauty Governed By The Stars...

Beauty Governed By The Stars...

House Of Hax

“When the mind is exhausted of images, it invents its own.”

Moni & Vio Photography

Decor and Fashion bloggers in Second Life

I Will Fear no Evil

Second Life Fashion

Sium

Just another boring blog

Fantasy Faire 2017

A RFL of SL Event